Sunday, April 06, 2008

2008 WFNB Literary Competition Winners Announced

The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick (WFNB) is pleased to announce the winners of its annual Literary Competition. Writers from across Canada competed in seven categories for over $2000 in cash prizes. Prizes were handed out at the Literary Awards Banquet held at the Rodd Miramichi Hotel, April 5th.

Susan Gillis judged the individual poem category. Rita Auffrey of Moncton, NB, takes first place with “Nine Roads for Joan of Arc.” Second place goes to Kathleen Brown of Fredericton, NB for “The Seam from Less.” Judith Frost of Verdun, PQ, places third with “My Father was Ready.”

J.J. Steinfeld judged the Short Fiction category. David Speare of Charlottetown, PEI, places first with “Return of the Railroad Cat.” Second place goes to Elizabeth Penny of Whitby, ON, with “Not in My House.” Martin Gerrard of East St. Paul, MB receives Third place for “Dreaming of a Kiss.”

Ken McGoogan judged the Non-Fiction category. Susan Marie Toy of St. Vincent & Grenadines, West Indies, takes first place with her piece “Hockey Night on Bellefair Avenue.” Second place goes to Anne Levesque of Moncton, NB, for “Pusat.” Helena MacLean of Lunenburg, NS receives Third place for “Santa’s Birthday.”

The Writing for Children category was judged by Sylvia McNicoll. First place goes to Tyler Enfield of Edmonton, AB for his piece “The Secret Worlds of Tabetha Bright.” Helene Boudreau of Markham, ON, takes Second place with “Acadian Star.” Third place goes to Lindsey Morris of Amherstburg, ON for “The Hotdog Bun.”

Carmelita McGrath judged the Sheree Fitch Prize for Poetry written by a youth. Randi Watson of Hazelton, NB, wins first place with “Rain.” Second place goes to Nicole Oakley of Elgin, NB, for “Walk In Our Shoes.” Mathiew Charles Nini of Bathurst, NB receives Third place for his poem “A Year in Sonnets.”

Joel Thomas Hynes judged the David Adams Richards Prize for unpublished manuscript or short stories. The winner is Andre Narbonne of London, ON, for “The Separatists.”
Honorable Mentions go to Beverly Akerman of Montreal, PQ; and Elaine McCluskey of Dartmouth, NS.

Peter Richardson judged the Alfred G. Bailey Prize for unpublished poetry collection. The winner is Sandra Ridley of Ottawa, ON for her submission “Downwinders”
Honorable Mention goes to Shane Neilson of Guelph, ON, for “White Coat, Black Bag.”

The WFNB congratulates all the winners and thanks everyone who entered the competition this year. Please visit for more info on the WFNB, and guidelines for the 2009 competition.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home